Faculty of Education

Dean’s Welcome

The Federal University, Ndufu Alike (AE-FUNAI) is one of the nine Federal Universities established by the Federal Government of Nigeria in February 2011 with Professor Ibidapo-Obe as the Pioneer Vice-Chancellor. Full academic activities in the University commenced on 5th November 2012.

The yearning to have a Faculty of Education in the University was realised by the appointment of Professor Chinedum Nwajiuba in February 2016 as the second Vice-Chancellor of FUNAI. The Vice-Chancellor announced his intention to establish the Faculty of Education and other Faculties in the Universities during his inaugural Senate meeting. The Senate of the University unanimously accepted this in principle. Thereafter, a Faculty establishment committee was set up to come up with modalities for the establishment of the Faculty of Education. The members of the Committee were Professor Akachi Ezeigbo ( Chairperson), Professor Kelvin Nwogu, Dr. Beatrice Achilike, Dr. Moses Alo, Dr. Chiyere Nwajiuba, Dr. Sunday Nnamani, Dr. Chinyere Elom, Dr. Gloria Okorie, Dr. Chiji Albi-Oparaocha and Mrs. Mmachi Nwankwo(Secretary).

The Committee worked assiduously to develop a proposal for the establishment of the Faculty of Education in AE-FUNAI with four Departments, namely: Arts and Humanities Education, Educational Foundations, Physical and Health Education, and Science Education. The Proposal for the establishment of the Faculty of Education submitted by the Faculty Establishment Committee was approved by the University Senate at its 33rd regular meeting held on Thursday, 30 June 2016. Consequently, Dr. Afam Icha-Ituma was appointed the pioneer Dean of the Faculty of Education on the 1st of July 2016. Some academic staff of the University with educational backgrounds were transferred from various academic departments to the Faculty of Education to start the Faculty. In addition, qualified academics were also recruited externally to ensure a smooth take-off of the Faculty. The inaugural departments and programmes of the Faculty are listed below:

  1. Department of Arts and Humanities Education: This Department offers a four-year/three-year Programme leading to the Bachelor of Arts in Education BA (Ed) English and Literary Studies.
  2. Department of Educational Foundations: This is a service Department that offers core Education courses to support Programmes in other departments. Later in the 2018/2019 academic session, approval was given by the National University Commission (NUC) to run two-degree programmes in the Department. The Department now offers a four-year/ three-year programmes leading to the award of the following degrees: B. Ed Educational Management and B. Ed Guidance and Counselling.
  3. Department of Science Education: This Department offers a four-year/ three-year programmes leading to the award of the following degrees: B. Sc (Ed) Mathematics Education, B. Sc (Ed) Biology Education, B. Sc (Ed) Physical and Health Education, B. Sc (Ed) Physics Education and B. Sc (Ed) Chemistry Education.
  4. Department of Vocational and Technical Education: This Department offers a four-year/ three-year programme leading to the award of B. Sc (Ed) Business Education.

Units in Faculty of Education

  1. The under listed Units exist in the Faculty:

  • {a} Micro-Teaching Laboratory
  • {b} Mathematics Laboratory
  • {c} e-Library
  • {d} Educational Technology Laboratory
  • {e} Counselling Laboratory
  • {f} Physiological Laboratory
  • {g} Health Laboratory
  • {h} Science Laboratory
  • {i} Physical Laboratory

2. Centres / Institutes
The Faculty currently has the following Centres:

  • {a}  Centre for Enhancement of Teaching and Learning
  • {b}  Computer Centre